KARVINA IS A TOWN IN MORAVIAN-SILESIAN REGION, IN THE NORTHEAST OF THE CZECH REPUBLIC.


THE TOWN´S HISTORY BEGINS IN 1268 BUT HUMANS LIVED HERE MUCH EARLIER, ACCORDING TO THE ARCHEOLOGICAL FINDS FROM THE STONE AGE. 1268 IS THE YEAR OF FOUNDING OF KARVINA TOWN. FRYSTAT, THAT WAS ORIGINALLY A SMALL TOWN IN ITS OWN RIGHT, IS TODAY ONE OF THE NINE PARTS AND THE CENTRE OF KARVINA. THE FATE OF PARISH CHANGED IN THE SECOND HALF OF THE 18th CENTURY, WHEN IT WAS FOUND OUT THAT IT STOOD ON A HUGE AMOUNT BLACK COAL OF VERY HIGH QUALITY. THE SIGNS OF MINING CAN STILL BE SEEN AROUND, BUT THE INDUSTRY IS NOW AT A VERY LOW LEVEL.

KARVINA IS ALSO A SPA TOWN. DARKOV SPA AND ITS HEALING IODINE-BROMIDE SPRINGS HAVE BEEN WELL KNOWN IN THE CZECH REPUBLIC AS WELL AS FAR BEYOND ITS BORDERS SINCE THE SECOND HALF OF THE 19th CENTURY.

THE POPULATION REACHED 80 THOUSAND IN 1985. TODAY ONLY ABOUT 54 THOUSAND PEOPLE LIVE IN KARVINA AND THE NUMBER IS STILL FALLING. THE HIGH CONCENTRATION OF STEEL AND MINING INDUSTRY IN THE PAST PRESENTS TODAY´S TOWN WITH PROBLEMS. ONE OF THEM IS THE FACT THAT THE RATE OF UNEMPLOYMENT IS HIGHER THAN OTHER REGIONS OF THE COUNTRY. DESPITE THIS THE TOWN BELIEVES IN REGENERATION. THE INFRASTRUCTURE AS WELL THE STREET FURNITURE ARE BEING REPAIRED AND UPDATED. THE COUNCIL WORKS HARD TO ATTRACT NEW INVESTORS.

THERE ARE MANY HISTORICAL BUILDINGS AND STRUCTURES:

ONE OF THEM IS THE St. PETER OF ALKANTARA CHURCH FROM 1736. THANKS TO THE MINING ACTIVITY IT HAS SUNK BY ABOUT 30m AND HAS TILTED BY 7 DEGREES. THAT MEANS THAT IS LEANING MORE THAN THE FAMOUS PISA TOWER.

A WALK THROUGH DARKOV REVEALS SPA VILLAS IN FUNCTIONALIST STYLE FROM THE EARLY 20th CENTURY AS WELL AS AN ART NOVEAU DANCE HALL WHERE YOU CAN VISIT CONCERTS AND DANCES TO THIS DAY.

ARCHING OVER THE OLSE RIVER IS A FUNCTIONALIST BRIDGE FROM 1925, CALLED THE HEROES OF SOKOLOVO. THE CENTRE OF THE TOWN BOASTS THE BEAUTIFUL T. G. MASARYK SQUARE, THE CAST IRON FOUNTAIN FROM 1900, THE TOWN HALL WITH ITS RENAISSANCE TOWER FROM 16th CENTURY, THE RISING OF THE HOLY CROSS CHURCH FROM 14th CENTURY AND FRYSTAT CASTLE FROM LATE 13th CENTURY. THE CASTLE USED TO BE THE SEAT OF DUKES FROM THE ROYAL FAMILY OF SILESIAN PIASTS. AT THE END OF 18th CENTURY IT WAS REBUILT IN EMPIRE STYLE BY LARISCH-MOENNICH COUNTS, WHO LIVED HERE UP UNTIL THE GERMAN OCCUPATION IN 1938.

THE INHABITANTS CAN ENJOY THEIR FREE TIME IN THE PARKS, THAT STILL BOAST SOME SPECIMEN TREES, LIKE GINKGO BILOBA.

ADMIRALITY

BE PREPARED

OUR COUNTRY

INTERESTING LINKS